All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:41 pm

Post subject: Mordor Army
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:33 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman

I only played two WotR games learning by doing and did not read the rules yet. In a few months there will be a tournament in Germany and a qant to take part in it. There are restrictions, to make the game more balanced:
max 5 spells per turn
max 14 might at the start
only 1 monster with impossible to kill
max 40 companies

And this is my first try to write a War of the Ring armylist:

Ringwraith (don't know who maybe Dwimmerlaik)

2x Mordortrollchieftain
2x6xMorannonorcs with Shields, Banner, Captain
2x2xMorannonorcs with Shileds, Shaman
1x6xWargriders with Shields and Captain

The idea is: big Formations in the center, little behinde them to cast spells, but not be in danger of heroic duells, or take terrain. Trolls and Wargriders beside them so that a don't get surrounded.
Thoughst?
 Post subject: Re: Mordor Army
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:52 am 
Craftsman
Craftsman

Hi there, and welcome to War of the Ring!

Glad to see there is a tournament, and good luck!

Specific advice based on your list and requirements:

1. The restrictions for the tournament seem a little unusual. I can see why, the spell restrictions I guess is to limit 'wraith spam' having too many Nazgul (which can quickly break the game), the company one to prevent large almost leaderless armies of high defence troops, and the Might limit ... well not entirely sure the reasoning for that.

2. From the list as posted I calculate your list at 1495 points. It is good that you have an idea and built your army around a general strategy. But you need some flexibility if there is a chance in the tournament you will be playing the 'Maelstrom' deployment, where formations come on randomly from any board edge and you can't predict when.