All times are UTC

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 8:07 am

Post subject: Texturing+painting Gaming board
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:03 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman

I decided to make a gaming board to play on, and I have got the wood and have cut it into 4 parts which join together to make a 6x4 board. Since this is my first attempt at any sort of terrain type thing I did not want to try a modular board (I want a bit of experience first).

My question is what should I do to the top of the board? I don't want to spend too much and have sand redily availible if that is the best way to go. I collect elves so I want the board to be based around that sort area (I will have removable terrain such as woodland and structures so I can change what part of the elven kingdoms its based around) so a grassy sort of thing.

Also what sort of buildings should I have for rivindell/mirkwood? Any links to guides on making elf structures would be very helpful (I've searched myself and found nothing that would be any good yet).

Thanks

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, I only just signed up.
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 4:50 am 
Administrator
Administrator

Hi Johnny, welcome to the One Ring - oh, and this is the right spot for your question :)

Sand is a good base for a gaming table and if you have it available in large amounts then that's what I'd recommend you use. Using anything else can get expensive if you've a large area to cover.

PVA (Elmers / White Glue / Wood Glue - it's all the same) is a great way to stick sand to the table surface (and your fingers). But use a kitchen sieve to spread the sand out over the glue - you'll get a lot more even coverage that way.