All times are UTC


It is currently Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:47 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:15 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:14 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Estonia
Hello, while going through the small rulebook from the Escape from Goblin Town box set among other rule changes I noticed that the spear support is worded differtly from past iterations.

Essentially from what I gather the spear support now can:

1. Support 2 handed weapons
2. Support other models with a bigger base than itself (e.g. Orc Warrior w/Spear and Morder Troll)
3. Spear support can support a charging cavalary (after the cavalary models charges (e.g warg rider charged and the spear support moved in base contact)

Spear support always yields 1 extra attack to the fight at their own Fight Value and Strenght (and in case of herose with their own Might store for modifier)

4. Herose "receiving" spear support cannot modify the extra attack with their own Might.

Correct me if I'm wrong on this. However if this way it is then it seems very streamlined, not that it's a bad thing or something.

_________________
I am the Mouth of Sauron, here him speak'
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:40 pm 
Loremaster
Loremaster
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:14 am
Posts: 1079
Yes, the rules for spears were streamlined a fair bit, reducing the tricky interactions with other special rules that could be overlooked. Overall, they seem more intuitive now, aside from the support to larger bases, which could well be removed from a next edition.
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:41 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:40 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Just for clarity, the answers to your questions are:

1) Yes
2) Yes
3) Yes
4) No, heroes can only use Might to alter their own attack rolls. They cannot use Might to alter the spear supporting dice roll. That's why people frequently roll different colored dice when fighting with a hero and spear support - i.e, Azog's 3 dice are the red ones and the supporting Gundabad spearmen is the white dice...You can then Might any of the 3 red dice, but not the white one....

_________________
T'was in the darkest depths of Mordor, I met a girl so fair..
But Gollum, and the evil one crept up and slipped away with her..
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:13 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Slovenia
Images: 11
I have one question too, regarding spear support.

In the rules, it says that supporting model gives one attack at models Fight and Strenght. So, does that mean if the supporting models Fight value is higher than that of the fighting model, for the purpose of draw dice result, you woul take into account supporting models Fight value? Nowhere is that said precisely, though I have seen people play like this...

_________________
The board is set, the pieces are moving...
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:50 am 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:14 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Estonia
Thank You all for the replies.

@ja33

4) That's what I said basically although my woring was poorer compared to yours :)


@ klemzy, no idead actually. I think it plays how it shoul be- You simply treat support die with the Fight Value of the Supporting model and the fighting models attack di(c)e with thei own Fight Value.

_________________
I am the Mouth of Sauron, here him speak'
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:56 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:40 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Klemzy - yes, you have it correct, you can use the spear supporter's Fight value, if it is higher than the model in base contact with an enemy.

This is why you frequently see F5 Elves spear supporting F4 Dwarves or F3 Men, as this increases the Fight Value in each duel to the Elves excellent F5...

_________________
T'was in the darkest depths of Mordor, I met a girl so fair..
But Gollum, and the evil one crept up and slipped away with her..
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:10 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Slovenia
Images: 11
You see, this is exactly the problem I am facing - which of this two interpretation of the rules that you guys are mentioning, is correct?

_________________
The board is set, the pieces are moving...
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Spear Support Question
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:35 am 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:14 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Estonia
You know I was wrong, I re-read the rules and here's what it says:

When comparing the dice rolls to see which side has won, only consider the highest scoring dfice and the highest Fight value on each side.

The Fight Values of individual models remain as they are. Just because an elf supports a Warrior of Minas Tirith does not mean that the Man has a FV of 5 now as well, however for the purpose of the fight the good side counts as having a Fight Value of 5.

Sorry for the confusion, spears used to work differently in the past iterations. :(

_________________
I am the Mouth of Sauron, here him speak'
Top
  Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: