All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:49 am

Post subject: Interested in the game but not sure where to start.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:59 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

Hey there,

I am new to the miniature gaming environment, i got into warhammer 40k (i play orks) i have been playing for a year now but i noticed that there is a LOTR miniature game and i really want to start playing it!

my self and 3 other people are wanting to get into LOTR miniature games and we are not quite sure how to get started.

do i just get the boxed hobbit sets? like escape from goblin town? and there are 4 of us total so do look for a starter box for the faction we like?

any and all information is appreciated. thanks!
 Post subject: Re: Interested in the game but not sure where to start.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:47 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman

Welcome! I'm a new player myself, just started collecting an army this year and gotten to play a few games. Right now the only starter set is the Escape From Goblin Town which has the small version of the rulebook as well as a great start to a Goblin Town army as well as Thorin's Company and Radagast. While technically Thorin's Company can be fielded as an army in points match games, most people don't. They can be used to lead troops from the Iron Hills faction though.

I think I may be getting ahead of myself, first it would be good to know what kind of games are you looking to play? Do you want to recreate events from the movies and books in scenario play? Or play against each other in points match games?

If no one in your group likes the idea of playing as Goblin Town or using the Thorin's Company models you can buy a bigger hardcover version of the rules seperately.

https://www.games-workshop.com/en-US/Th ... Journey-EN