All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:00 am

Post subject: Underrated rule
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 6:11 pm 
Loremaster
Loremaster

I have been playing this game for 7 years now (I started when my son was born so it is easy for me to remember).

Anyways, as I have played an increasing number of games my understanding of SBG tactics has changed greatly. With that being said the two biggest changes have come to my understanding of *how* to use might and shielding.

Might is a long story so I will spare your the details. Long story short, Might is great for heroic combats.

Now on to shielding. When I first began to play my thought was, "Why shield? I am forfeiting the chance to inflict a wound on my enemy, and is the purpose of the point match to break my opponent?" Since then I have come to understand the sweet mechanic that is shielding. What a difference it has made to my win:loss ratio. Not that I am a winning machine now, because I am not, but wow, shielding correctly made such a difference for my force.

What rules do you think are underrated? What took you time to grasp? Once you understood a certain concept how did it change your play style?
 Post subject: Re: Underrated rule
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:49 pm 
Kinsman
Kinsman

I haven't played a lot of games, and never in a tournament.
I play against friends so we don't have a great experience in term of rules.

But I have tried shielding recently, and it helped me a lot. Actually, I feel more confortable on the table since I do it :)

A point about might : I still have fear to use it to call heroic combats (what if I loose? It's a wasted point / Is it a good idea to call an heroic combat there? What would I do next? / ...).

Concerning deployment, I still have some troubles in doing it in "the most efficient way" (cavalry, for instance). But I use my bowmen better than I used to (and I don't fear to send them into melee when I judge that it's time :p)