All times are UTC

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:25 pm

Post subject: Advice on selling a collection
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:21 am 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior

Yesterday, I started seriously thinking about reducing the size of my collection. Since the theft, a lot of my more important figures are just gone and I realised I am looking at years of trying to reassemble these armies. There's also a pile of unpainted plastic which fills me with something akin to dread. Worse, I am looking at two significant home moves between now and next September. One of those moves might be across an ocean or a continent.

Instead, I started thinking of "boiling down" what I have to three key themes and getting rid of the rest.

So...what's the best way to sell off a large collection of LOTR figures? Anyone done so before? Any challenges? Anything to watch out for?

Post subject: Re: Advice on selling a collection
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:54 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman

I'm no expert by any means, but I have watched ebay pretty closely over the last couple years as I've tried to build up my collection. And my observation would be that you will likely make more money by selling stuff in smaller pieces/groups rather than trying to list and sell as one big army/armies.

For example, if you are selling a Minas Tirith army, maybe list Boromir and Faramir together, then list the captains & banners together, then groups of 12 to 24 Warriors together, etc, etc....the main trouble with listing them all together as one big group is that you potentially limit your amount of prospective buyers because some people just can't afford a $200 lot and others may only want some of the pieces and don't want to pay for a bunch of stuff that they already have, you know ?