All times are UTC

It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 11:58 pm

Post subject: My first game
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2023 4:34 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior

I've been collecting and painting since 2008, but I finally found a real opponent to play a game with! We had our game on Valentine's day, so I fielded Rivendell Elved led by the Twins. The Twins are like Romeo and Juliet, you have to field them together and they go berserk if the other is killed. I had 500 pts of spearmen, swordsmen and a generic captain and banner plus the twins. I thought my opponent would field orcs or goblins--I find out the night before that he's bringing one or two mumaks! :shock:

He ended up fielding 500pts, with a mumak and it's commander, 12 archers in the howdah and the rest were spearmen on the ground.

I put as many trees on the board as I could fit, but I only had one wooded terrain in a 10" triangle on my left flank and a 6" triangle of difficult terrain in the middle of my 1/3 of the board. The rest were just trees. We decided that I would get trees, but the mumak could trample them. There was also a ruin in the middle of the board, but the mumak took that out 1st turn.

Because I brought no archers, (a strategic oversight?) :roll: we let him go first. I hid in the trees to escape his archers and pretty much passed until the mumak began to approach the trees. It took three or four turns, then heroic charge by about half the elves. One of the twins flubbed and ran right off the get-go. The elves' legendary courage held thoughout the game, with only about 1/8 of them failing to charge the mumak.