All times are UTC

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 12:23 pm

Post subject: Need beginner advice.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:21 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

So I do have a thread in the beginner forum about restarting my LOTR journey, but am seeking painting tips for my first new models that I will be purchasing tomorrow. I have quite a few older models but have never really been successful at the hobby aspect. Tomorrow, I will be purchasing a set of dwarf rangers that i would like to be the first trial of models with a new commitment to the hobby. If we assume I am new to every aspect of painting, basing, converting etc.

Does anyone have any tips? I am trying to read up on basic techniques but any advice would be appreciated.

Also, what should I buy? Though I have no gripe with GW, I can't afford to buy strictly their product. I will be purchasing a majority of my equipment at a local Hobby Lobby, Michaels, etc.

Which colors should I grab for my dwarfs? Preferably versatile colors, however I am looking to add a splash of blue, green, red or yellow to various part os my entire dwarf army just to relay a central theme.

In regards to basing, any thoughts?
 Post subject: Re: Need beginner advice.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:46 am 
Elven Elder
Elven Elder

Great! A question I can really give advice on as I shop at the same stores lol.

As to paint-brushes, I always buy mine at Michaels. If you buy their Acrylic brushes they will work quite well. I'd recommend at least the "professional" level of brushes, they're very good and cheap compared to GW brushes.

As to paint colors I only use GW because I like them and have a lot of experience using them, and they are a known quantity when it comes to how well they will stay on models.

For my Dwarves I use lots of greens that are close to pine-needle type green, as you'd see on their mountain homes. Deep browns, greys and some bright blues and golds to really set them off.